South Carolina has some of the toughest drunk driving laws in the nation. Over the past two decades, the legal system and law enforcement have done a great job at reducing drunk driving on the state roads. Today there are signs posted on most highways and roads in Greenville, South Carolina warning drivers not to drink and drive. Drivers under the age of 21 can be convicted of drunk driving even if their blood alcohol level measures as little as 0.02. Drivers over the age of 21 can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if their BAC is over 0.08. Anything higher and the legal system will penalize you for it. If you were arrested for DUI and your BAC was 15% over the legal limit, you need to contact a DUI lawyer immediately.
What to Do In Case Of A DUI Arrest
First and foremost, you should always avoid driving if you are drunk. Your blood alcohol level doesn’t even have to be over the legal limit. It’s always a good idea to avoid getting behind the wheel if you have been drinking. It’s for your own safety as well as the safety of others on the road.
If a law enforcement officer in Greenville, SC suspects that you are drunk, they will pull you over. Keep in mind that while the officer asks you for the relevant papers, they will also look for signs which would indicate that you are drunk (e.g., flushed face, dilated pupils, clumsiness, slurred speech, alcohol on your breath, etc.). The officer may require you to undergo some field tests to determine your physical and mental impairment. This is done because signs of impairment usually start to appear when your blood alcohol level is 0.08 or higher. If you pass the field test, you will be let go.
However, if you fail a sobriety test, then you will be asked to submit to a breathalyzer test. All law enforcement officers carry these portable devices with them in their car. If you refuse to take the breathalyzer test, you will be arrested on the spot, and your license will automatically be suspended. If you pass the breathalyzer test, but the officer still believes you have alcohol on board, they will take you to the station where a urine/blood alcohol test will be performed. Most likely you will spend the night in jail. If you take the breathalyzer test and fail, you will be arrested on the spot and charged with a DUI.
Consequences of a DUI Charge
A DUI charge is not something you should take lightly. While it is important that you follow whatever the officers ask you to do, you should also contact a DUI attorney as soon as you are able to. First-time offenders for DUI in Greenville, SC can go to jail anywhere from 24 hours to 90 days. In addition, their driver’s license may also be suspended for 1-6 months.
Things can get much more complicated If your blood alcohol level is 0.15 or higher. You will receive the penalties mentioned above, and you will also have to fulfill the ignition interlock requirements. Drivers with a BAC of 0.15% or more will receive an additional one-month suspension at the time of arrest. You cannot receive a temporary license. You may get an ignition interlock restricted license after you are convicted.
Contact a DUI Lawyer at the Bateman Firm
If you were arrested for drunk driving in Greenville, South Carolina, the best recommendation is to speak to a DUI attorney. The legal team at The Bateman Firm is here to help you in case of a DUI arrest. Our Greenville DUI lawyer understands that being arrested for a DUI is not a small matter. It is also an event that can be quite intimidating for the driver. Most people do not have the necessary knowledge about the judicial system. But we can help you in this regard. Our DUI lawyers will ensure that your rights are protected. Call us today at 864-881-7070, and one of our DUI attorneys will be happy to assist you.