Did you know that Clemson, South Carolina has designated “safe zones” to keep its residents safe? Did you know that these safe zones have special penalties for anyone caught driving under influence? There is also a very low threshold for what constitutes a DUI in Clemson.
In this article, we will look at everything you should know about driving under the influence (DUI) in Clemson.
More specifically, we will answer questions such as “when can they take my license away if I get caught with a BAC above .08?” and “what is an implied consent law, and how does it apply to me as a driver?” Also, you’ll learn more about how a Clemson, South Carolina DUI lawyer from the Bateman Law Firm can help you defend against DUI charges.
What Is A DUI In Clemson?
DUI is an acronym for “driving under influence” – it is categorized as operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Having a BAC (blood alcohol content) level of 0.08% or higher in South Carolina is a criminal offense and the driver can be charged with a DUI. This applies to those who drive commercial vehicles as well as individuals who drive privately owned vehicles.
Penalties For DUI In Clemson
A first-time DUI in Clemson will carry a fine and either one year of driver’s license suspension or 90 days in jail. A second-time DUI carries harsher penalties. In addition to a fine and five years of driver’s license suspension, the convicted driver will also be required to install an ignition interlock device (IDL) in their vehicle for six months. An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer installed in the vehicle that requires the driver to blow into it before starting the car. If the driver’s BAC is above .08, the car will not start.
Can They Take My License Away If I’m Above .08 BAC?
If a driver is pulled over for suspected DUI and fails the field sobriety tests or the breathalyzer test, the officer has the right to take his/her license away right then and there. That’s right – they don’t have to wait until you get to the station to take your license away. In the state of South Carolina, officers can take driver’s licenses away if they test above the state’s legal BAC limit of 0.08%. And if you refuse to take the breathalyzer test, they’ll still take your license away.
Implied Consent And Breath Testing In Clemson
If you are arrested for a DUI in Clemson, you will likely be asked to submit to a breath test. While in most states, a DUI arrestee can decline to take a Breathalyzer test, in South Carolina, arrestees cannot refuse the test. Refusal to take the test results in an automatic one-year driver’s license suspension. Furthermore, according to South Carolina Code Section 56-19-550, driving on a driver’s license suspended for a DUI-related offense is a criminal offense. The penalties for this offense include a fine and up to 30 days in jail.
How To Choose The Right Clemson DUI Attorney
There are a few things you should consider when choosing a Clemson DUI attorney. The first is whether or not the attorney has experience with DUI cases. You want to make sure that your attorney is familiar with the laws surrounding DUI cases and knows how to navigate the court system.
The second thing you should consider is the cost of the attorney. You want to make sure you can afford the attorney’s fees and that the attorney is willing to work within your budget. The third thing you should consider is the attorney’s reputation. You want to ensure the attorney you choose is someone who is respected by his or her peers and has a good track record of winning DUI cases.
Rest assured, with the Bateman Law Firm, you’ll get the best legal defense for your case!
The Benefits Of Hiring A Clemson DUI Lawyer
If you have been charged with DUI in Clemson, it is important to hire an experienced DUI lawyer to protect your rights and fight for a favorable outcome. A Clemson, South Carolina DUI lawyer can investigate the facts of your case, challenge the evidence against you, and negotiate with prosecutors to get charges reduced or dismissed. A DUI conviction can result in jail time, a loss of driving privileges, and heavy fines, so it is important to have a skilled lawyer on your side.
Tips For Avoiding A DUI In Clemson, South Carolina
There’s a lot you can do to avoid getting a DUI. First, always designate a sober driver before you start drinking. If you don’t have a designated driver, call a cab or use a rideshare service. Second, don’t drink too much alcohol. Know your limits and stick to them. Third, avoid driving if you’ve been drinking. If you must drive, make sure you’re well-rested and have someone else in the car with you. Finally, always obey the law. If you’re pulled over, be cooperative and respectful to the officer. And of course, if you’re caught in trouble, call a lawyer!
How Much Does It Cost To Hire A Clemson South Carolina DUI Lawyer?
The cost of hiring a Clemson South Carolina DUI lawyer varies depending on the lawyer’s experience and the severity of the DUI charge. A first-time DUI offense is typically less expensive to defend than a DUI with priors or a DUI resulting in injury or death. The average cost of hiring criminal defense lawyers in Clemson, South Carolina lies between $2,500 and $5,000 – but this is not a fixed range; again, the actual cost varies depending on the nature of the case and the expertise of the attorney.
Our Clemson, South Carolina DUI Lawyers Can Help You With A Solid Legal Defense!
In Clemson, you risk losing your license, fines, and even jail time if you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you find yourself in this situation, the best advice we can give you is to call a DUI attorney from the Bateman Law Firm immediately. Our criminal defense lawyers in Clemson, South Carolina can help you navigate the complicated criminal justice system and get the best outcome possible.
There are no fees for the initial consultation; call us now!