Last week a Ring video caught an SUV driving off Murray Drive and flipping into Kevin Siembieda’s family yard in Hanahan.
The SUV rolled over four times; the driver was driving with more than 35 miles per hour.
Besides the driver, there were three other passengers in the vehicle. One of them was ejected from the vehicle and landed outside the home. There is no information about the severity of the injured passenger.
According to the police report, the driver of SUV admitted that he had three drinks the night when he flipped over the car on Siembieda’s yard. The police also found alcoholic drinks at the scene. For now, it is not known whether the driver will be charged with DUI.
If you drive under the influence in South Carolina, you can get a DUI conviction. DUI means that you took drugs or alcohol and decided to drive and put yourself and others in danger.
There is no difference if your blood alcohol content is lower than 0.08 percent. South Carolina has a separate offense of driving with an illegal alcohol concentration (DUAC), where the alcohol concentration is important. It is considered a crime to drive if your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08 percent or higher.
No matter if you are convicted of DUAC or DUI, the penalties are more or less the same. For a first time DUAC or DUI (depending on your impairment and BAC), you can face fines varying from $400 and $1000, prison time from 48 hours to ninety days, and license suspension for at least half a year.
If you are facing DUI charges, make sure you hire a good DUI defense. Call us and schedule your first consultation today.