If you have been convicted of DUI in South Carolina, then you already know what the penalties are. Ranging from fines to jail time and license suspension, a Greenville DUI attorney can help you address these issues, including getting your license reinstated.
Everyone is required to pay a fine after a DUI conviction. Depending on how many DUIs you have had in the past, these fines can range anywhere from $400 to $10,000. If, for example, you’re convicted of DUI for the second time within ten years, your fine will be somewhere around $2,100. Of course, if your BAC was over .16, you could end up paying close to $6,500. You’ll also be facing possible jail time.
Of all the penalties associated with DUI, however, having your license suspended may be one of the worst parts. Greenville DUI attorneys understand how life-changing it can be to have your license suspended for just 6 months, let alone 3 years. When it finally comes time to reinstate your license, you may have no idea what to do.
Here, we’ll explain what the process is for having your driver’s license reinstated in South Carolina. We’ll also explain what offenses, other than DUI, can lead to a license suspension. If you’re approaching the time to apply for a reinstated license and you’re concerned, just call, and speak with one of our Greenville criminal defense attorneys.
Why Would Your Driver’s License Be Suspended in the First Place?
Most people will go through their entire lives without ever having their driver’s license suspended. Even if you get a traffic ticket, they don’t normally suspend your license for that. Of course, if you let a bunch of tickets accumulate without paying them, this can happen. Aside from this, there are more than half a dozen reasons why your license could have been suspended. Some of these include the following:
- You were convicted of DUI
- Driving without insurance
- Driving with an expired license
- Drug offenses, especially those that involve your vehicle
- Refusal to take a breathalyzer test during a traffic stop
- Failure to pay outstanding traffic tickets or municipal citations
Regardless of the reason for having your license suspended, the process to get the license reinstated is almost the same. Apart from special insurance requirements associated with a DUI, the Division of Motor Vehicles maintains the same procedure for applying to have one’s driver’s license reinstated.
Your Greenville DUI Attorney Can Help You Get Your License Reinstated
One of the best things about retaining a Greenville DUI attorney is that they are very familiar with the law. They know what the penalties are for DUI in South Carolina. They also understand what it takes to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Before you file your application to get your license reinstated, there are a few things you need to take care of. For example, you are required to submit proof that you completed the State Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program (ADSAP). This will serve as evidence that you have complied with the judge’s order for conviction of DUI.
The other thing you need to do prior to applying to have your license reinstated is to obtain the requisite insurance. If your license was suspended for DUI, you’re going to have to pay for something called a SR-22 insurance certificate. This document certifies that you have paid for (and will continue to pay for) insurance that meets the court’s required minimum standards.
If you don’t have ample insurance, you’ll have to amend your policy. Without the SR-22 certificate, and a statement that you agree to maintain the current auto insurance for a period of at least 3 years, your request to have the license reinstated will be denied.
How Much Does It Cost to Apply for Reinstatement of Your South Carolina Driver’s License?
One of the first questions our clients ask is how much it will cost to get their license reinstated. The answer is not that clear-cut. Technically, the reinstatement fee is only $100. This is the fee you’ll pay to the Division of Motor Vehicles in South Carolina. However, there are other expenses that must be paid prior to you filling out your application.
First, you have to check to see if there are any other fines that you need to pay. When the DMV does a check to see if your record is clear, they’ll look for any outstanding fines or tickets. These will all have to be paid prior to having your license reinstated.
Specifically, you’ll have to pay any fines associated with your DUI in full. Even if these fees were thousands of dollars, the DMV won’t issue your reinstated license until these have been paid. You’ll need to submit proof that they have been paid. This will help if the various courts haven’t updated their payments with the DMV.
Finally, if you were required to install an ignition interlock device on your car or SUV, you’ll have to pay for this. While the device itself is only a couple of hundred dollars, you’ll have to pay annual or monthly maintenance fees as well. As you can see, having your driver’s license reinstated can be quite expensive.
Make Sure You Have Proof That You Completed the Drug and Alcohol Program
One of the other documents you’ll need to submit to the DMV is a certificate of completion from your Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program. Anybody who is convicted of DUI in South Carolina will be required to complete this program. It typically takes up to a year to do this. If your license suspension was only 6 months, you may have to wait until you complete your ADSAP program prior to applying for reinstatement.
Reach Out to an Experienced Greenville DUI Attorney Sooner Rather than Later
If you’re anything like most other people who had their license suspended, you’ve been counting the days until reinstatement. As the day approaches, your excitement turns into nervousness. Most people have no idea what they’re supposed to do to get their license reinstated in South Carolina. On top of that, we all know how frustrating and confusing it can be at the Division of Motor Vehicles.
That’s why we suggest you meet with skilled Greenville criminal defense attorneys a few months before it’s time to apply for reinstatement. This way, they have plenty of time to help you with the paperwork. It also gives you time to save up the money it may cost to apply for reinstatement.